Skip to main content
Shared Equity Resources

Shared Equity Resources

Fannie Mae helps finance shared equity homeownership

At Fannie Mae, our goal is to make it easier for homebuyers' to purchase a property that's part of a shared equity program by providing access to conventional financing. That means there are more financing options for shared equity programs and homebuyers and fewer hurdles for lenders when offering shared equity loans.

Shared equity programs are sometimes referred to as Below-Market Rate programs.  There are three types of shared equity programs that we see regularly:  Community Land Trusts (CLTs), Deed Restricted or Income and Resale and Price Restricted programs, and Limited Equity Cooperatives. 

Shared equity programs preserve affordable homeownership opportunities by allowing borrowers to purchase homes at below-market prices. In exchange, borrowers agree to sell the property only to other income-qualified buyers and at a restricted sales price.

Certified Shared Equity Programs List: Make it easier for borrowers to find financing

To offer conventional financing for properties that are part of a shared equity program, lenders often have to invest resources in ensuring that the program meets certain requirements. By answering a few questions to certify that you meet Fannie Mae and Duty to Serve requirements, you can show lenders that the homes in your program are eligible for conventional financing.

Get certified