Loan Limits for Conventional Mortgages

The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) publishes annual conforming loan limits that apply to all conventional mortgages delivered to Fannie Mae, including general loan limits and the high-cost area loan limits. High-cost area loan limits vary by geographic location.

Supporting Tool


External Resources

General Loan Limits for 2019
The general loan limits for 2019 has increased and apply to loans delivered to Fannie Mae in 2019 (even if originated prior to 1/1/2019). Refer to Lender Letter LL-2018-05 for specific requirements.

Maximum Loan Amount for 2019

UnitsContiguous States, District of Columbia, and Puerto RicoAlaska, Guam, Hawaii, and the U.S. Virgin Islands
1 $484,350 $726,525
2 $620,200 $930,300
3 $749,650 $1,124,475
4 $931,600 $1,397,400

Maximum Loan Amount for High-Cost Areas for 2019

+A number of states (including Alaska and Hawaii), Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virigin Islands do not have any high-cost areas in 2019.

UnitsContiguous States, District of Columbia+Alaska, Guam, Hawaii, and the U.S. Virgin Islands
1 $726,525 Not Applicable
2 $930,300 Not Applicable
3 $1,124,475 Not Applicable
4 $1,397,400 Not Applicable

2019 Loan Limits Overview

  • Loan limits increased for all but 47 counties across the country, including Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
  • In those 47 counties, the limits remained unchanged.
  • Loan limits did not decrease anywhere in the US and its territories.

2019 High-cost Counties/Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA)

  • There are high-cost areas within the following states: California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.
  • The high-cost area limits published in Lender Letter-2018-05 are the statutory limits provided by FHFA, but should not be used to determine the loan amount. Lenders must find the applicable loan limit for counties/MSAs in the Loan Limit Look-up Table or on FHFA's web page.

Details for Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands

  • The general loan limits significantly increased for Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, which resulted in no high-cost areas for those states and territories.
  • In 2018, only two counties/MSAs — Honolulu and Kauai — were defined as high-cost areas. There were no high-cost areas in Alaska, Guam, or the U.S. Virgin Islands.
  • In 2019, the limits for Honolulu and Kauai increased, but the increase was to the new 2019 general loan limit for Hawaii. There are no high-cost areas in Hawaii in 2019 (or in Alaska, Guam, or the U.S. Virgin Islands).